Love in the Present Tense

“I still remember my first lesson about love. Not forever love, but the other kind, the kind people use every day. The kind that only works with grown-ups. The kind that always seems to self-destruct after a while.”

-“Years later I developed the simplest litmus test of all (…) If it takes you apart, that’s not love. Love puts you back together.”

-“A little boy takes what he wants when he wants it. A grown man knows how much pain he’s willing to cause for his own pleasure. It’s a sign of maturity. Prioritizing somebody else’s pain over your own satisfaction.”

-“I was hoping my actions would speak to that, (…) I was hoping you might guess”.
-“It’s not something anyone should ever be required to guess about,” I say. “It helps to be told”

-“I think if you walked every minute of somebody’s life in his shoes then everything he did would make sense to you, even the bad things.” 

Love in the Present Tense by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Esta entrada fue publicada en Personal. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

